VAEE Board of Directors

The volunteer driven board of directors for the Virginia Association for Environmental Education is elected by the membership and oversees the operations of the organization. Board members plan the annual Virginia Environmental Education conference, seek out funding opportunities, manage VAEE memberships, communicate VAEE activities and news to the membership and much more.  Regional Team chairs are appointed by the membership of each individual region and represent their team during board activities.

2019 VAEE Board 

 Back (l to r): Page Hutchinson, Cindy Duncan, Elaine Tholen,    Lisa Behm ( 2015-2018 Treasurer), Greg Eaton 
Front (l to r): Bruce Young,  Richard Groover, Helen Kuhn
Not Pictured: Krista Hodges, Dan Cohen, Georgia Busch, Robin Dunbar, Charlotte DeMolay, Inge Terrill

Board Nominations

The VAEE Nominations Committee is charged with providing a slate of candidates for Officers to our Board of Directors when those positions open in the following year.  Those candidates are then voted into office at our Annual Membership Meeting.  This year our Annual Membership Meeting is Thursday, February 27 at Sweet Briar College. We are currently seeking nominations for Vice Chair, Secretary, one student board member, and four committee chair positions (Advocacy Chair, Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion Chair, Membership Chair, Professional Learning Chair)

All seven positions will begin service effective immediately following the elections. The student board member will serve a one-year term.  All other elected positions will serve a two-year term. Descriptions and expectations for all board positions on this year’s slate can be found here.

Nominate yourself of others for one or more of the available board positions by using this form.

The following VAEE members make up the current board. Click on a name to send an email to that board member.

Executive Board

Action Team Chairs

Regional Chairs

Chair: Cindy Duncan

Chair Elect: Dan Cohen

Vice Chair: Page Hutchinson

Secretary: Helen Kuhns

Treasurer:  Greg Eaton

At Large Directors:

Richard Groover

Bruce Young


Helen Kuhns

EE Certification Advisory Board : 

Danielle Racke

Communications & Outreach: 

Bruce Young

Conference Chair:

Page Hutchinson

Fundraising & Development Chair: 

Cindy Duncan

Membership & Regional Teams Chair: 

Greg Eaton

Blue Ridge Environmental Educators

Inge Terrill

Greater Richmond Environmental Education Network: 

Georgia Busch

NoVA Outside

Elaine Tholen

Loudon Environmental Stewardship Alliance: 


Southwest Virginia Environmental Education Team:

Mandy Fletcher

Hampton Roads Environmental Education:

Robin Dunbar


Virginia Association for Environmental Education

1501 Lakeside Drive
Lynchburg, Va 24501

Facebook Instagram  Linkedin

Website questions? Click here to contact Bruce Young, VAEE Communication Chair

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software